Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Of Mice and Men
How to use the literary databases and books critiquing Of Mice And Men / John Steinbeck
Literary Reference Center, Literature Resource Center
Hitting the Books
The Books Have it!
People have made their career out critiquing literature. There are a variety of books that will help you!
Use the: Table of Contents and Index to narrow your search to specific topics
Gale Literary Sources
Managed well, pay off is big!
Search Title of Text in Search Box
Browse through the search results to pull search terms, gather information
Use Advanced Search to narrow results (limit to full text, content type etc.)
EXAMPLE: race (keyword) Of Mice and Men (name of work) Limit (full text) Content type (criticism, topic overview)
Literary Reference Center
Take your time!
Stick to basic search of the text title: has fewer hits but high quality articles in this database
Read the Abstract/Summary: Most articles contain one and will give you an overview of the article
Learn from what you have: Skim articles for new terms to search
No Article should contain everything you need: Pull what you need from each to create new knowledge
Gale Literary Sources
Literature Resource Center This link opens in a new window
Find up-to-date biographical information, overviews, full-text literary criticism and reviews on more than 130,000 writers in all disciplines, from all time periods and from around the world. The optional MLA International Bibliography module adds citations for hundreds of thousands of books, articles and dissertations from 1926 to the present, linked to full text where available
Literature Reference Center
Literature Reference Center
Find up-to-date biographical information, overviews, full-text literary criticism and reviews on more than 130,000 writers in all disciplines, from all time periods and from around the world. The optional MLA International Bibliography module adds citations for hundreds of thousands of books, articles and dissertations from 1926 to the present, linked to full text where available.
Salem Press provides access to its award-winning content both in print and online. The following titles are available in print form in the library as well as online.
Gale Database Suite
Gale Database Suite
Variety of Gale databases to fit various needs, from criminal justice to psychology to pop culture and everything in between
Issues & Controversies in American History
Issues & Controversies in American History This link opens in a new window
Builds a deeper understanding of how historical events have shaped our nation by exploring the key players and the battles they fought.
Twentieth-Century Writers, 1900-1950 by
Call Number: 813.09 VER
Publication Date: 1993-03-01
Each volume in the American Profiles series provides middle and high school students with concise information on eight to thirteen important and influential figures in a particular field of endeavor. Profiles are organized around a movement, event, or profession that has had a significant, lasting impact on American history and contemporary life. Essential biographical information is included for each figure, but the heart of each profile describes the critical achievements and contributions of the individual under consideration and assesses the subject's significance, not only in the context of the person's own lifetime, but in the broader sweep of American history. Placing each figure's achievements and contributions in a historical context makes each profile the ideal source for preparing reports. Students can use this framework as a basis for comparisons and contrasts, which will give them a better understanding of how individuals shape, and are shaped by, the times in which they live. -- Jack London -- Sherwood Anderson -- Willa Cather -- F. Scott Fitzgerald -- William Faulkner -- Ernest Hemingway -- John Steinbeck -- Richard Wright.
The Authority of Experience: Essay in feminist criticism by
Call Number: 801.95 AUT
Publication Date: 1977-01-01
American Realism by
Call Number: 810.9 AME
Publication Date: 2000-03-01
Presents an overview of the literary movement known as American realism, and features fifteen critical articles that offer a definition of realism, and discuss the rise of naturalism, class, race, and gender in American realism; national character in American realism; and realism after 1914.
Playing in the Dark by
Call Number: 810.9 MOR
Publication Date: 1992-05-01
Pulitzer Prize-winning novelist Toni Morrison brings the genius of a master writer to this personal inquiry into the significance of African-Americans in the American literary imagination. Her goal, she states at the outset, is to "put forth an argument for extending the study of American literature...draw a map, so to speak, of a critical geography and use that map to open as much space for discovery, intellectual adventure, and close exploration as did the original charting of the New World--without the mandate for conquest." Author of Beloved, The Bluest Eye, Song of Solomon, and other vivid portrayals of black American experience, Morrison ponders the effect that living in a historically racialized society has had on American writing in the nineteenth and twentieth centuries. She argues that race has become a metaphor, a way of referring to forces, events, and forms of social decay, economic division, and human panic. Her compelling point is that the central characteristics of American literature individualism, masculinity, the insistence upon innocence coupled to an obsession with figurations of death and hell--are responses to a dark and abiding Africanist presence. Through her investigation of black characters, narrative strategies, and idiom in the fiction of white American writers, Morrison provides a daring perspective that is sure to alter conventional notions about American literature. She considers Willa Cather and the impact of race on concept and plot; turns to Poe, Hawthorne, and Melville to examine the black force that figures so significantly in the literature of early America; and discusses the implications of the Africanist presence at the heart of Huckleberry Finn. A final chapter on Ernest Hemingway is a brilliant exposition of the racial subtext that glimmers beneath the surface plots of his fiction. Written with the artistic vision that has earned her a preeminent place in modern letters, Playing in the Dark will be avidly read by Morrison admirers as well as by students, critics, and scholars of American literature.
The American Dream by
Call Number: REF 810.9 KEI
Publication Date: 2013-04-01
The American Dream' is a phrase that has become an essential component of the American experience, a phrase that, once entered into the national lexicon, has come to define our nation's identity, underlying nearly every aspect of our lives. And since the
Great Writers of the English Language by
Call Number: 820.9 GRE
Publication Date: 1991-01-01
An illustrated overview of the life and works of a selected number of important writers in the English language from the sixteenth to the twentieth century.