LibGuides: Copy of Literary Criticism: Junior Annotated Bibliography Research Paper: Ethan Frome

Gale Literary Sources

Managed well, pay off is big!

Search Tips:

Search Title of Text in Search Box

Browse through the search results to pull search terms, gather information

Use Advanced Search to narrow results (limit to full text, content type etc.)

EXAMPLE: (keyword) Ethan Frome (name of work) Limit (full text) Content type (criticism, topic overview)

Take your time!

Stick to basic search of the text title: has fewer hits but high quality articles in this database

Read the Abstract/Summary: Most articles contain one and will give you an overview of the article

Learn from what you have: Skim articles for new terms to search

No Article should contain everything you need: Pull what you need from each to create new knowledge

The Books Have it!

People have made their career out critiquing literature. There are a variety of books that will help you!

Use the: Table of Contents and Index to narrow your search to specific topics

Literature Resource Center This link opens in a new window
Find up-to-date biographical information, overviews, full-text literary criticism and reviews on more than 130,000 writers in all disciplines, from all time periods and from around the world. The optional MLA International Bibliography module adds citations for hundreds of thousands of books, articles and dissertations from 1926 to the present, linked to full text where available

Literature Reference Center
Find up-to-date biographical information, overviews, full-text literary criticism and reviews on more than 130,000 writers in all disciplines, from all time periods and from around the world. The optional MLA International Bibliography module adds citations for hundreds of thousands of books, articles and dissertations from 1926 to the present, linked to full text where available.

Salem Press
Salem Press provides access to its award-winning content both in print and online. The following titles are available in print form in the library as well as online.

Gale Database Suite
Variety of Gale databases to fit various needs, from criminal justice to psychology to pop culture and everything in between

Issues & Controversies in American History This link opens in a new window
Builds a deeper understanding of how historical events have shaped our nation by exploring the key players and the battles they fought.

Edith Wharton by Harold Bloom (Introduction by)
Call Number: 813 WHA
ISBN: 0877546991
Publication Date: 1986-01-01
-- Brings together the best criticism on the most widely read poets, novelists, and playwrights-- Presents complex critical portraits of the most influential writers in the English-speaking world -- from the English medievalists to contemporary writers

Notable American Novelists by Carl Rollyson (Editor); Salem Press Staff
Call Number: REF 813.009 NOT
ISBN: 9781587653933
Publication Date: 2007-08-01
This edition of Notable American Novelists presents biographical sketches and analytical overviews of 145 of the best-known American and Canadian writers of long fiction from the 19th and 20th centuries, arranged alphabetically by name.

Great American Writers: 20th Century by R. Baird Shuman (Editor)
Call Number: REF 810.9 GRE
ISBN: 076147241X
Publication Date: 2002-01-01
Highlights the lives and works of 90 authors from the U.S. and Canada, including novelists, poets, dramatists, writers of nonfiction, and lyricists.