LibGuides: Literary Criticism: Junior Annotated Bibliography Research Paper: Catcher in the Rye

Gale Literary Sources

Managed well, pay off is big!

Search Tips:

Search Title of Text in Search Box

Browse through the search results to pull search terms, gather information

Use Advanced Search to narrow results (limit to full text, content type etc.)

EXAMPLE: innocence (keyword) Catcher in the Rye (name of work) Limit (full text) Content type (criticism, topic overview)

Literary Reference Center

Take your time!

Stick to basic search of the text title: has fewer hits but high quality articles in this database

Read the Abstract/Summary: Most articles contain one and will give you an overview of the article

Learn from what you have: Skim articles for new terms to search

No Article should contain everything you need: Pull what you need from each to create new knowledge

Hitting the Books

The Books Have it!

People have made their career out critiquing literature. There are a variety of books that will help you!

Use the: Table of Contents and Index to narrow your search to specific topics

Gale Literary Sources

Literature Resource Center This link opens in a new window
Find up-to-date biographical information, overviews, full-text literary criticism and reviews on more than 130,000 writers in all disciplines, from all time periods and from around the world. The optional MLA International Bibliography module adds citations for hundreds of thousands of books, articles and dissertations from 1926 to the present, linked to full text where available

Literature Reference Center

Literature Reference Center
Find up-to-date biographical information, overviews, full-text literary criticism and reviews on more than 130,000 writers in all disciplines, from all time periods and from around the world. The optional MLA International Bibliography module adds citations for hundreds of thousands of books, articles and dissertations from 1926 to the present, linked to full text where available.

Salem Press

Salem Press
Salem provides access to a growing number of reference works in its renowned literary content both in traditional, printed form and online combined in a single purchase. Both uses are included in all Salem Literature reference. Purchasers of qualifying literature-related printed reference products are entitled to complimentary access to the full content of the print reference. It's that simple.

Gale Database Suite

Gale Database Suite
Variety of Gale databases to fit various needs, from criminal justice to psychology to pop culture and everything in between

Issues and Controversies in American History

Issues & Controversies in American History This link opens in a new window
Builds a deeper understanding of how historical events have shaped our nation by exploring the key players and the battles they fought.

J.D. Salinger

J. D. Salinger by Raychel Haugrud Reiff
Call Number: 813 SAL
ISBN: 9780761425946
Publication Date: 2007-09-01
Sometimes the personal stories behind famous writers can be as compelling as the works they pen. This new series introduces the life and writings of authors whose works forever changed the time period in which they lived, and whose writing continues to be a dynamic part of the literary landscape. Each book in the series contains a comprehensive list of the author's works, while highlighting and analyzing the writings most often discussed in high schools. from F. Scott Fitzgerald's The Great Gatsby to Charlotte Brontë's Jane Eyre, an in-depth analysis of the writings and the historical time period in which they were written, along with the writers' biographies and critical commentaries of the past and present, provide the reader with a unique look into the worlds of these cultural icons and the writings we have come to regard as timeless.

J.D. Salinger

J. D. Salinger by Harold Bloom (Introduction by)
Call Number: 813 SAL
ISBN: 0877547165
Publication Date: 1988-01-01
A collection of essays about the works of the American author.

Coming of Age

Coming of Age by Kent Baxter; Salem Press Staff
Call Number: REF 809 KEN
ISBN: 9781429837316
Publication Date: 2012-09-01
This volume in the Critical Insights series presents a variety of new essays on the perennial theme. Essays survey the critical conversation regarding the theme, explore its cultural and historical contexts, and offer close and comparative readings of key

Coming of Age

The Adolescent in the American Novel since 1960 by Mary Jean DeMarr; Jane S. Bakerman
Call Number: 813.54 DEM
ISBN: 0804430675
Publication Date: 1986-12-01

American Realism

American Realism by Christopher E. Smith
Call Number: 810.9 AME
ISBN: 9780737703238
Publication Date: 2000-03-01
Presents an overview of the literary movement known as American realism, and features fifteen critical articles that offer a definition of realism, and discuss the rise of naturalism, class, race, and gender in American realism; national character in American realism; and realism after 1914.

J.D. Salinger

Notable American Novelists by Carl Rollyson (Editor); Salem Press Staff
Call Number: REF 813.009 NOT
ISBN: 9781587653933
Publication Date: 2007-08-01
This edition of Notable American Novelists presents biographical sketches and analytical overviews of 145 of the best-known American and Canadian writers of long fiction from the 19th and 20th centuries, arranged alphabetically by name.

J.D. Salinger

Great American Writers Twentieth Century by R. Baird Shuman (Editor)
Call Number: REF 810.9 GRE
ISBN: 076147241X
Publication Date: 2002-01-01
Highlights the lives and works of 90 authors from the U.S. and Canada, including novelists, poets, dramatists, writers of nonfiction, and lyricists

Literary Criticism: Junior Annotated Bibliography Research Paper: Catcher in the Rye

The Catcher in the Rye

Gale Literary Sources

Literary Reference Center

Hitting the Books

Gale Literary Sources

Literature Reference Center

Salem Press

Gale Database Suite

Issues and Controversies in American History

J.D. Salinger

J.D. Salinger

Coming of Age

Coming of Age

American Realism

J.D. Salinger

J.D. Salinger