LibGuides: Literary Criticism: Junior Annotated Bibliography Research Paper: The Great Gatsby

Gale Literary Sources

Managed well, pay off is big!

Search Tips:

Search Title of Text in Search Box

Browse through the search results to pull search terms, gather information

Use Advanced Search to narrow results (limit to full text, content type etc.)

EXAMPLE: American dream (keyword) Great Gatsby (name of work) Limit (full text) Content type (criticism, topic overview)

Literary Reference Center

Take your time!

Stick to basic search of the text title: has fewer hits but high quality articles in this database

Read the Abstract/Summary: Most articles contain one and will give you an overview of the article

Learn from what you have: Skim articles for new terms to search

No Article should contain everything you need: Pull what you need from each to create new knowledge

Hitting the Books

The Books Have it!

People have made their career out critiquing literature. There are a variety of books that will help you!

Use the: Table of Contents and Index to narrow your search to specific topics

Gale Literary Sources

Literature Resource Center This link opens in a new window
Find up-to-date biographical information, overviews, full-text literary criticism and reviews on more than 130,000 writers in all disciplines, from all time periods and from around the world. The optional MLA International Bibliography module adds citations for hundreds of thousands of books, articles and dissertations from 1926 to the present, linked to full text where available

Literature Reference Center

Literature Reference Center
Find up-to-date biographical information, overviews, full-text literary criticism and reviews on more than 130,000 writers in all disciplines, from all time periods and from around the world. The optional MLA International Bibliography module adds citations for hundreds of thousands of books, articles and dissertations from 1926 to the present, linked to full text where available.

Gale Database Suite

Gale Database Suite
Variety of Gale databases to fit various needs, from criminal justice to psychology to pop culture and everything in between

Issues & Controversies in American History

Issues & Controversies in American History This link opens in a new window
Builds a deeper understanding of how historical events have shaped our nation by exploring the key players and the battles they fought.

The Great Gatsby

The Great Gatsby, by F. Scott Fitzgerald by Morris Dickstein (Editor); Salem Press Staff
Call Number: REF 813.52 MOR
ISBN: 9781587656088
Publication Date: 2009-10-01
This volume of criticism begins with essays that provide the reader with cultural, historical, comparative, and critical contexts for understanding Gatsby. Several essays consider the cultural and historical contexts of Fitzgerald's work while critical co

The Great Gatsby

F. Scott Fitzgerald's The Great Gatsby by Harold Bloom ed
Call Number: 813 FIT
ISBN: 087754901X
Publication Date: 1986
The structure of The great Gatsby / Kenneth Eble -- Scott Fitzgerald's criticism of America / Marius Bewley -- Two versions of the hero / David Parker -- Gatsby and the failure of the omniscient "I" / Ron Neuhaus -- Another reading of The great Gatsby / Keath Fraser -- Oral aggression and splitting / A. B. Paulson -- The great Gatsby / Brian Way -- The waste land myth and symbols in The great Gatsby / Letha Audhuy.

American Dream

The American Dream by Salem Press Staff
Call Number: REF 810.9 KEI
ISBN: 9781429838214
Publication Date: 2013-04-01
The American Dream' is a phrase that has become an essential component of the American experience, a phrase that, once entered into the national lexicon, has come to define our nation's identity, underlying nearly every aspect of our lives. And since the

F. Scott Fitzgerald

Great American Writers: 20th Century by R. Baird Shuman, editor.
Call Number: REF 810.9 GRE
ISBN: 076147241X
Publication Date: 2002
Highlights the lives and works of 90 authors from the U.S. and Canada, including novelists, poets, dramatists, writers of nonfiction, and lyricists.

F Scott Fitzgerald

Notable American Novelists by Carl Rollyson (Editor); Salem Press Staff
Call Number: REF 813.009 NOT
ISBN: 9781587653933
Publication Date: 2007-08-01
This edition of Notable American Novelists presents biographical sketches and analytical overviews of 145 of the best-known American and Canadian writers of long fiction from the 19th and 20th centuries, arranged alphabetically by name.

Literary Criticism: Junior Annotated Bibliography Research Paper: The Great Gatsby

The Great Gatsby

Gale Literary Sources

Literary Reference Center

Hitting the Books

Gale Literary Sources

Literature Reference Center

Gale Database Suite

Issues & Controversies in American History

The Great Gatsby

The Great Gatsby

American Dream

F. Scott Fitzgerald

F Scott Fitzgerald

A Guide to the Roaring Twenties