Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Literary Criticism: Junior Annotated Bibliography Research Paper: "On The Rainy River": The Things They Carried

Focusing on literary databases and critques, junnior will create an annotated bibliography on a specific piece of literature through various lenses

The Things They Carried

How to use the literary databases and books critiquing

On the Rainy River  from The Things They Carried / Tim O'Brien

Literary Reference Center, Literature Resource Center

 

Gale Literary Sources

Managed well, pay off is big!

Search Tips:

Search Title of Text in Search Box

Browse through the search results to pull search terms, gather information

Use Advanced Search to narrow results (limit to full text, content type etc.)

EXAMPLE: "Things They Carried" (name of work) and Tim O'Brien (author)

Content Type: Literature Criticism, Topic and Work Overview and Primary Sources

OR

Simple Search: "On the Rainy River"

Literary Reference Center

Take your time!

Stick to basic search of the text title: has fewer hits but high quality articles in this database

Read the Abstract/Summary: Most articles contain one and will give you an overview of the article

Learn from what you have: Skim articles for new terms to search

No Article should contain everything you need: Pull what you need from each to create new knowledge

EXAMPLE:

Simple Search: Things They Carried

after results: Limit to "Full Text"

Source Types: Literary Criticism, Reviews

 

NHS Library Catalog

Boston Public Library Online Resources

Explore databases, newspapers, journals, electronic books, and more without leaving your computer. Any MA resident is eligible for a BPL ecard.

Gale Literature Resource Center

Literature Reference Center

Gale Database Suite

Issues & Controversies in History

World History In Context

Vietnam War

Tim O'Brien

Vitenam War

Vietnam Vets

Mental Health