Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Science In Context
Science In Context This link opens in a new window
Science in Context features authoritative information for assignments and projects, and provides detailed coverage of popular subjects. From earth science and life science, to space, technology, mathematics and science history and biography, this revolutionary, this curriculum-oriented online experience is designed to boost achievement for students and researchers
Teen Health & Wellness
Teen Health & Wellness This link opens in a new window
Teen Health & Wellness: Real Life, Real Answers, the inaugural database from Rosen Publishing Online, provides students with comprehensive curricular support and self-help tools on topics including diseases, drugs, alcohol, nutrition, fitness, mental health, diversity, family life, and more.
Today's Science This link opens in a new window
Today’s Science bridges the gap between the science that students learn in the classroom and the discoveries pushing the boundaries of science today. Updated weekly and containing thousands of links to a 15-year back-file, Today’s Science explains important developments in biology, chemistry, the environment, space, physics, and technology. Students are provided with information in context, clearly explained and abundantly illustrated, so they can see new advances not as inexplicable wonders, but as resulting from the application of the same concepts and principles of investigation (the scientific method) that they are learning about in simpler form in the classroom.
Health & Wellness Resource Center
Health & Wellness Resource Center This link opens in a new window
Multi-source database provides access to the full text of nursing and allied health journals, plus the wide variety of personal health information sources in InfoTrac's award-winning Health Reference Center. All in a single, easy-to-use database, the material contained in this database is intended for informational purposes only.
Science Reference Center
Science Reference Center This link opens in a new window
Science Reference Center is a comprehensive research database that provides easy access to a multitude of full text science-oriented content. This database contains full text for nearly 640 science encyclopedias, reference books, periodicals, etc. Topics covered include: biology, chemistry, earth & space science, environmental science, health & medicine, history of science, life science, physics, science & society, science as inquiry, scientists, technology and wildlife.
Biography in Context
Biography in Context
Gale biographies with related full-text articles from magazines and newspapers, thousands images, and links to vetted websites. Search for current or historic figures based on name, occupation, nationality, ethnicity, birth/death dates and places, or gender, as well as keyword and full text. Fully integrated, the Marquis Who's Who® module provides quick reference information on over 1 million additional people whose entries have appeared in more than 22 Marquis sources published from 1985 to the present.
Facts On File Sreaming Video
Facts On File Streaming Video This link opens in a new window
lassroom Video On Demand is a state-of-the-art streaming video platform that makes it easier than ever to incorporate outstanding educational programs from Facts On File and Films Media Group into your classroom or library. It provides an up-to-date, cross-curricular digital library that spans high school, advanced placement and college needs.
Issues This link opens in a new window
This database helps students develop an in-depth understanding of how society shapes and is shaped by controversy, providing authoritative historical context, expert perspectives, and carefully selected primary and secondary sources on today's most important issues.
This guide is for the sophomore chemistry project. Using academic databases for your project will elevate the quality of your final product! The databases provide you with:
Up to date information
Source citation provided
Subject specific content
Why Should You Use Databases?
Integrated tools for note-taking, outlining, citation, document
archiving/annotation, and collaborative research and writing.
Minuteman Library Network
Minuteman Library Network
The Minuteman Library Network (MLN) is a consortium of 43 libraries with 62 locations and a Central Site staff that work collectively to provide excellent service to its library users. The members include 36 public and 7 college libraries including Natick!
Boston Public Library
Boston Public Library Catalog
The Boston Public Library eCard gives you instant access to thousands of ebooks, movies, audio files, magazines and more.
PubMed Central® (PMC) is a free full-text archive of biomedical and life sciences journal literature at the U.S. National Institutes of Health's National Library of Medicine (NIH/NLM).
The National Library of Medicine (NLM), on the campus of the National Institutes of Health in Bethesda, Maryland, has been a center of information innovation since its founding in 1836. The world’s largest biomedical library, NLM maintains and makes available a vast print collection and produces electronic information resources on a wide range of topics
TOXNET Toxology Data Network
Your resource for searching databases on toxicology, hazardous chemicals, environmental health, and toxic releases
Food & Drug Admiistration
The Food and Drug Administration is responsible for protecting the public health by ensuring the safety, efficacy, and security of human and veterinary drugs, biological products, and medical devices; and by ensuring the safety of our nation's food supply, cosmetics, and products that emit radiation.
Pharmaceutical Research and Manufacturers of America (PhRMA)
The Pharmaceutical Research and Manufacturers of America (PhRMA) represents the country’s leading innovative biopharmaceutical research companies, which are devoted to discovering and developing medicines that enable patients to live longer, healthier and more productive lives. PhRMA is committed to advancing public policies in the United States and around the world that support innovative medical research, yield progress for patients today and provide hope for the treatments and cures of tomorrow.
Chemistry and Art
Explore our Chemistry and Art collection to learn about the work of scientific teams in museums and galleries, and discover the links between different types of art, materials, colours and eras.
Natick High School Library
Stuck: How vaccine rumors start: and why they don't go away
Call Number: 614.47 LAR
Publication Date: 2020-07-16
Vaccine reluctance and refusal are no longer limited to the margins of society. Debates around vaccines' necessity -- along with questions around their side effects -- have gone mainstream, blending with geopolitical conflicts, political campaigns, celebrity causes, and "natural" lifestyles to win a growing number of hearts and minds. Today's anti-vaccine positions find audiences where they've never existed previously. Stuck examines how the issues surrounding vaccine hesitancy are, more than anything, about people feeling left out of the conversation. A new dialogue is long overdue, one that addresses the many types of vaccine hesitancy and the social factors that perpetuate them. To do this, Stuck provides a clear-eyed examination of the social vectors that transmit vaccine rumors, their manifestations around the globe, and how these individual threads are all connected.
On pandemics : deadly diseases from bubonic plague to coronavirus
On Pandemics by
Call Number: 614.4 WAL
Publication Date: 2020-05-28
Containing important information about the coronavirus, this comprehensive, easy-to-follow primer on pandemics, epidemics, and the panics they ignite around the world also shares solutions for a safer, healthier future. "A quiet little gem of understanding in a cacophony of panic and fear." --Quill & Quire, STARRED review Authored by a leading epidemiologist, this engrossing book answers our questions about animal diseases that jump to humans--called zoonoses--including what attracts them to humans, why they have become more common in recent history, and how we can keep them at bay. Almost all pandemics and epidemics have been caused by diseases that come to us from animals, including SARS, Ebola, and--now--Covid-19. Epidemiologist, veterinarian, and ecosystem health specialist, David Waltner-Toews, gathers the latest research to profile dozens of illnesses in On Pandemics. Chapters are broken into short, dynamic explainers, each one tackling a different disease. Readers will discover: Why zoonotic diseases jump from animals to humans--and why some decide to stick around for good How governments have responded to pandemics and epidemics throughout history, for better or for worse. The role of climate change, industrialized farming, cultural practices, biodiversity loss, and globalization in making these diseases not only possible, but inevitable outcomes of our modern lifestyles. Coronaviruses, such as those that cause SARS and Covid-19, have likely made bats their home for centuries. Until SARS came along, we didn't know they were there, nor do we know how many other death-dealing viruses might be living undetected in wildlife. On Pandemics shows the greater impact of animal-borne diseases on our world, and encourages us to re-examine our role in pandemics, if not for our own health, then for the health of our planet. Published originally in 2007 as The Chickens Fight Back: Pandemic Panics and Deadly Diseases that Jump from Animals to Humans, this book has been updated in light of the COVID-19 pandemic. "Waltner-Toews makes truly entertaining reading." --Globe and Mail "A page-turner presented with irreverent humour and many hair-raising anecdotes." --Vitality Magazine
Chemistry Connections: the chemical basis of everyday phenomena / Kerry K. Karukstis
Chemistry Connections by
Call Number: REF 540 KAR
Publication Date: 1999-07-23
This text highlights the fundamental role of chemical principles in governing everyday experiences and observations. In question-and-answer format, it presents in both lay and technical terms the chemical principles underlying numerous familiar phenomena. It gives general explanations in accessible terms to highlight the chemical essence of the phenomenon and technical explanations using introductory chemical principles to provide specific details for a more in-depth interpretation.
Molecules of an exibition / John Emsley
Molecules at an Exhibition by
Call Number: 540 EMS
Publication Date: 1999-12-09
What ingredient in Coke can remove rust from chrome? What is the bitterest substance on earth? What is the worst smelling one? In this entertaining tour of chemistry, John Emsley answers these and many other questions as he illuminates the materials that make up our world. Dozens of lively articles explore such well-known molecules as water, oxygen, and glass; versatile plastics like polypropylene, polystyrene, and polyurethane; even "elements from hell" such as Sarin (a lethal nerve gas). With no formulas, equations, or molecular diagrams to baffle the non-expert, each piece blends history, science, and anecdote, with many intriguing facts added to the mix. "The world of chemistry has never been made as entertaining," writes Nobel Prize-winning chemist Roald Hoffmann. Indeed, this book will fascinate everyone curious about the chemicals in the foods we eat, the clothes we wear, and the air we breathe.
Psychology & Mental Health
Psychology and Mental Health by
Call Number: REF 150.3 SAL
Publication Date: 2009-10-01
This comprehensive five-volume set covers notable theories, people, social issues, life stages, the physiology and anatomy of the nervous system, and various mental illnesses or conditions, all in a simple, easy to use A-Z format.
Magill's Medical Guide / Bryan C. Auday
Magill's Medical Guide by
Call Number: 610.3 MAG
Publication Date: 2014-02-01
Covers diseases, disorders, treatments, procedures, specialties, biology, and issues in an easy-to-use A-Z format, with sidebars addressing recent developments in medicine and concise information boxes for all diseases and disorders. In addition to comple
Natural and everyday drugs : a false sense of security
Natural and Everyday Drugs by
Call Number: 613.8 WAL
Publication Date: 2012-01-01
Natural and Everyday Drugs: A False Sense of Security You've seen the ads: "Never diet again! Our all-natural treatment magically melts away the pounds!" "Want to boost your athletic performance? Dr. Smith has found the secret to improved stamina and strength with his all-natural formula!" "Need more energy? Our all-natural juice product will give you the pick-me-up you need!" After all, what do you have to lose? If it's all natural, it can't hurt. Or can it? If you have trouble believing these ads, you're right to be skeptical. "All-natural" dietary supplements seldom deliver the amazing results they claim. And just because they're natural, doesn't mean that some of these substances can't cause serious damage to a user's health. Read Natural and Everyday Drugs: A False Sense of Security to find out more. Book jacket.
Addictions & Substance Abuse
Addictions and Substance Abuse by
Call Number: REF 362.29 MON
Publication Date: 2012-08-01
The set contains 325 alphabetically arranged essays on a variety of topics, including substances of abuse, treatment and addiction overviews, organizations and foundations dedicated to treatment and prevention, physiological and psychological issues and b