Skip to main content

Literary Criticism: Junior Annotated Bibliography Research Paper: Of Mice and Men

Focusing on literary databases and critques, junnior will create an annotated bibliography on a specific piece of literature through various lenses

Of Mice and Men

How to use the literary databases and books critiquing Of Mice And Men / John Steinbeck

Literary Reference Center, Literature Resource Center

Hitting the Books

The Books Have it!

People have made their career out critiquing literature. There are a variety of books that will help you!

Use the: Table of Contents and Index to narrow your search to specific topics

 

 

Gale Literary Sources

Managed well, pay off is big!

Search Tips:

Search Title of Text in Search Box

Browse through the search results to pull search terms, gather information

Use Advanced Search to narrow results (limit to full text, content type etc.)

EXAMPLE: race (keyword) Of Mice and Men (name of work) Limit (full text) Content type (criticism, topic overview)

Literary Reference Center

Take your time!

Stick to basic search of the text title: has fewer hits but high quality articles in this database

Read the Abstract/Summary: Most articles contain one and will give you an overview of the article

Learn from what you have: Skim articles for new terms to search

No Article should contain everything you need: Pull what you need from each to create new knowledge

Gale Literary Sources

Literature Reference Center

Salem Press

Gale Database Suite

Issues & Controversies in American History

John Steinbeck

Feminism

American Realism

Race

American Dream

Literary Criticism