Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Advance Database Search Strategies
Using the academic databases advanced search feature to improve results and raise research skills to a higher level!
General Information vs. Select Information
How To Search
What is your question? "Can genetically modified food help with the world's food shortage?"
What are your key terms? Phrases, tag words, synonyms (think outside the box)
"genetically modified food" Or GMO, "food shortage" OR hunger
Set up your search: search in keywords and/or entire document
Set Your Limits & Choose Your Content
Always Limit to "Full Text" (nothing more frustrating than finding what looks to be the perfect article and then only having the abstract)
Choose your content type: (depending on what kind of information you seek)
Choose your content level: (should focus on articles with intermediate or advanced level)
Use Your Results
Read the Abstract/Summary: Most articles contain one and will give you an overview of the article
Learn from what you have: Skim articles for new terms to search
No Article should contain everything you need: Pull what you need from each to create new knowledge
Purpose of research is to create something new!
CQ Researcher is often the first source that librarians recommend when researchers are seeking original, comprehensive reporting and analysis on issues in the news. Founded in 1923 as Editorial Research Reports, CQ Researcher is noted for its in-depth, unbiased coverage of health, social trends, criminal justice, international affairs, education, the environment, technology, and the economy.
NBC Learn Streaming Video
NBC Learn Streaming Video This link opens in a new window
NBC Learn is a collection of over 14,000 standards-aligned resources designed for use in the classroom. NBC Learn is only licensed to schools and universities.
Gale Database Suite
Gale Database Suite
Variety of Gale databases to fit various needs, from criminal justice to psychology to pop culture and everything in between
Teen Health & Wellness
Teen Health & Wellness This link opens in a new window
Teen Health & Wellness: Real Life, Real Answers, the inaugural database from Rosen Publishing Online, provides students with comprehensive curricular support and self-help tools on topics including diseases, drugs, alcohol, nutrition, fitness, mental health, diversity, family life, and more.
Science Reference Center
Science Reference Center This link opens in a new window
Science Reference Center is a comprehensive research database that provides easy access to a multitude of full text science-oriented content. This database contains full text for nearly 640 science encyclopedias, reference books, periodicals, etc. Topics covered include: biology, chemistry, earth & space science, environmental science, health & medicine, history of science, life science, physics, science & society, science as inquiry, scientists, technology and wildlife.
Opposing Viewpoints In Context This link opens in a new window
A one-stop source for information on today's hottest social issues. Drawing on acclaimed series published by Greenhaven Press and other Gale imprints, OVRC features viewpoint articles, topic overviews, full-text magazine, academic journal, and newspaper articles, primary source documents, statistics, images and podcasts, and links to Websites.
Student Resources in Context
Student Resource In Context This link opens in a new window
Covering all core curriculum areas, including history, literature, science, social studies, and more, SRC provides a premium selection of reference material, more than 340 full-text periodicals and newspapers, primary sources, creative works, and multimedia, including hours of video and audio clips. New to the database is the READSPEAK option.