Weeding is the process of reevaluating items in our collection and removing any that are inaccurate, out of date, misleading, inappropriate, unused in poor condition or otherwise harmful to students. It is an ongoing process done to maintain the best possible collection for our students. Here is the criteria used for evaluating our collection:
Procedure for Re-evaluation of Library Materials
Request for consideration of school library materials
Natick Public Schools Library Selection Policy
Policy and procedures for selection of Library materials
The School Committee of the Natick Public School System is legally responsible for all materials relating to the operation of the Natick Public School system.
Objectives for selection of materials
The library’s primary role is to provide materials that:
Support and enrich all segments of the curriculum
Foster an appreciation of literature
Promote information literacy
Develop aesthetic values and discriminating judgement
Reflect varied interests, points of view, abilities and maturity levels
Responsibility for selection of materials
Responsibility for the selection of library materials is delegated by the School Committee to he professionally trained librarians employed by the Natick Public School System. The librarians will be guided by recommendations of teachers as well as administrators, students and parents.
Criteria for Selection of Materials
The librarian will select materials to meet the needs of the collection based on the knowledge of the curriculum, the existing collection, current methods of teaching, curriculum frameworks, state standards, student abilities and the professional judgement of teachers.
Materials of superior quality will be sought with consideration to:
authority/factual accuracy; timeliness/permanence; interest/ability levels; artistic/technical quality; format/price.
Gift materials will be judged by the above criteria by the librarian. They will be added to the library collection, placed elsewhere in the school (if deemed appropriate) or rejected if no place exists.
Procedure for Selection of Library materials
In selecting materials for purchase the librarian:
1. Evaluates the existing print and digital collection to:
Identify obsolete, worn or missing items for update,
replacement or weeding.
Appraise in close cooperation with department heads
and team leaders, subject coverage of topics currently
or potentially emphasized in the curriculum frameworks
Assess the balance and depth of the collection in
terms of state standards and curriculum frameworks.
2. Uses reputable, unbiased, professionally prepared
selection guides to locate current materials and
to update/expand subject areas.