Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Natick High School Library Resources: Digital Resoures

General Reference/Current Events

Facts On File has been publishing quality reference titles since 1941. Our list has grown to more than 1,300 titles and spans a multitude of subject areas such as U.S. history, world history, language and literature, science and technology, careers, social issues, classroom video on demand and many others.

CQ Researcher is often the first source that librarians recommend when researchers are seeking original, comprehensive reporting and analysis on issues in the news. Founded in 1923 as Editorial Research Reports, CQ Researcher is noted for its in-depth, unbiased coverage of health, social trends, criminal justice, international affairs, education, the environment, technology, and the economy.

. Covering all core curriculum areas, including history, literature, science, social studies, and more, SRC provides a premium selection of reference material, more than 340 full-text periodicals and newspapers, primary sources, creative works, and multimedia, including hours of video and audio clips. New to the database is the READSPEAK option.

A one-stop source for information on today's hottest social issues. Drawing on acclaimed series published by Greenhaven Press and other Gale imprints, OVRC features viewpoint articles, topic overviews, full-text magazine, academic journal, and newspaper articles, primary source documents, statistics, images and podcasts, and links to Websites.

Classroom Video On Demand is a state-of-the-art streaming video platform that makes it easier than ever to incorporate outstanding educational programs from Facts On File and Films Media Group into your classroom or library. It provides an up-to-date, cross-curricular digital library that spans high school, advanced placement and college needs.

An in-depth understanding of how society shapes and is shaped by controversy, providing authoritative historical context, expert perspectives, and carefully selected primary and secondary sources on today's most important issues.

Online Encyclopedia for high school students offering reference research, dictionaries, atlas and world newspapers. A great tool for beginning the research process.

English/Literary

A comprehensive literary reference database, which provides users with a broad spectrum of reference information from antiquity to the present day. LRC is a comprehensive database that combines information from over 1,000 books and monographs, major literary encyclopedias and reference works, hundreds of literary journals, and unique sources not available anywhere else.

Find up-to-date biographical information, overviews, full-text literary criticism and reviews on more than 130,000 writers in all disciplines, from all time periods and from around the world. The optional MLA International Bibliography module adds citations for hundreds of thousands of books, articles and dissertations from 1926 to the present, linked to full text where available.

Gale Literature: LitFinder provides access to literary works and authors throughout history and includes more than 130,000 full-text poems and 650,000+ poetry citations, as well as short stories, speeches, and plays. The database also includes secondary materials like biographies, images, and more.

Access a range of periodical content to explore cultural differences, contributions, and influences in the global community.

Full text coverage from 1980-present,

Search the full text of The New York Times (starting in 1985).

Biography Resource Center combines Gale biographies with related full-text articles from magazines and newspapers, thousands images, and links to vetted websites. Search for current or historic figures.

Health/Science/Math

Provides students with comprehensive curricular support and self-help tools on topics including diseases, drugs, alcohol, nutrition, fitness, mental health, diversity, family life, and more.

 

Provides an in-depth understanding of a variety of health and wellness topics, providing authoritative historical context, expert perspectives, and carefully selected primary and secondary sources on today's most important health and wellness issues.

Multi-source database provides access to the full text of nursing and allied health journals, plus the wide variety of personal health information sources in InfoTrac's award-winning Health Reference Center.

Today’s Science bridges the gap between the science that students learn in the classroom and the discoveries pushing the boundaries of science today. Updated weekly and containing thousands of links to a 15-year back-file , Today’s Science explains important developments in biology, chemistry, the environment, space, physics, and technology

Science Reference Center is a comprehensive research database that provides easy access to a multitude of full text science-oriented content. This database contains full text for nearly 640 science encyclopedias, reference books, periodicals, etc. Topics covered include: biology, chemistry, earth & space science, environmental science, health & medicine, history of science, life science, physics, science & society, science as inquiry, scientists, technology and wildlife.

Science in Context features authoritative information for assignments and projects, and provides detailed coverage of popular subjects. From earth science and life science, to space, technology, mathematics and science history and biography

A content-driven, visually stimulating, and media-rich online economics and personal finance resource specifically designed for students in grades 7–12. Financial Literacy delivers curriculum-correlated content; promotes digital literacy and 21st-century learning skills; and offers research, report, and homework help.

Social Studies

Builds a deeper understanding of how historical events have shaped our nation by exploring the key players and the battles they fought

American Government provides a complete, multifaceted examination of the foundations of our government and political system that supports any curriculum or research project focused on the government of the United States.

Contextual information on hundreds of the most significant people, events and topics in U.S. History. The new solution merges Gale's authoritative reference content with full-text magazines, academic journals, news articles, primary source documents, images, videos, audio files.

Contextual information on hundreds of the most significant people, events and topics in World History. The new solution merges Gale's authoritative reference content with full-text magazines, academic journals, news articles, primary source documents, images, videos, audio files.

Provides authoritative content and online tools that develop students’ global literacy, focusing on the geographic, political, social, economic, and cultural forces that are increasingly important in our globalized world.

Whether studying to become a lawyer or law enforcement officer, paralegal, or for a career in Homeland Security, this collection rises to the challenge. Users will have access to hundreds of full-text journals.

Database Password Document