Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Natick High School Library Resources: Catalog

Library Catalog

​​​​​​

Sora

Sora is a digital reading app. When you read a book on Sora you can adjust the font size and style, define words, and highlight passages and make notes. There are also some audiobooks available on the app as well. Click the link to begin!

NHS Library Book Collection

Our physical collection of books have been organized into the following categories and genres:

Both of these genres focus on the stories of people's lives. Biographies are written about a person by someone else. Memoirs are a collection of memories written by the person themselves.

Classics stand up to the test of time without waver. An author or literary work of the first rank, especially one of demonstrably enduring quality.

Dystopian literature takes place in a futuristic, imagined universe in which oppressive societal control and the illusion of a perfect society are maintained through corporate, bureaucratic, technological, moral, or totalitarian control. Dystopias, through an exaggerated worst-case scenario, make a criticism about a current trend, societal norm, or political system.

Fantasy novels and stories contain elements that are not realistic. Fantasy stories usually take place in an unknown world or a time or place. The plot of fantasy stories often involves witches, sorcerers, mythical and animal creatures talking like humans, and other things that never happen in real life.

Graphic novels are a format, not a genre. They are book-length comic books that are meant to be read as one story. They can be written in any genre such as realistic fiction, mystery, fantasy, etc. They may also be written about superheroes that are meant to be read in a series or as a stand alone text.  

A fictional story set in a recognizable period of history. As well as telling the stories of ordinary people's lives, historical fiction may involve political or social events of the time.

A novel involving a puzzling crime, situation, or circumstance that needs to be solved and in which one or more elements remain unknown or unexplained until the end of the story.

Nonfiction texts are books that have factual information in them. They can be narrative nonfiction, informational, and reference books. For more detailed information on the organization of nonfiction books, see the Dewey Decimal System Box.

Realistic fiction takes place during the time it was originally written. The characters are involved in events that could realistically happen. Characters and plot-lines do not deviate from what is possible.

The focus of the story is on the relationships, often romantic relationships, of the main protagonist. These stories can also have elements of other genres such as fantasy, realistic, and gothic.

Science fiction stories' content is imaginative and fictional, but relies heavily on scientific facts, theories, and principles to support its settings, characters, themes, and plot-lines. These stories often take place in the future, space, or a different world, universe, or dimension. 

Short stories are not a genre, they are a format. Short stories have fully developed themes but are significantly shorter than a novel. Collections of short stories can be by a single author, or they can be a collection of short stories by different authors that all contain similar themes, genres, or other elements that link the entire collection together. 

Books in the sports fiction genre are made up stories where a sport has an impact on the plot or main character. The story could be about an athlete, a coach, or an entire team.

These stories intend to thrill, frighten, scare, disgust, or startle its readers by introducing feelings of horror and terror. Thrillers can be either supernatural or non-supernatural. 

A novel in which the primary action takes place in a field of armed combat, or in a domestic setting (or home front) where the characters are preoccupied with the preparations for, or recovery from, war.

Dewey Decimal System

Popular topics' by Dewey Decimal Number:

While this is not a complete listing of every Dewey Decimal Number associated with these topics, these are the general numbers where an interested party can browse the stacks. Search the catalog or ask a librarian if you need something more specific.

  • Sports……………………………………..…………….…..796
  • Cookbooks……………………….……………………….641.5
  • True Crime………………………………………..…..…..364.1
  • Gender studies and Feminism………………….305.3, 305.4
  • LGBTQAI+…………………………….305.2-4, 306.8, 307.76
  • Race…………………………………………..…..304.8, 305.8
  • Racism……………………………………………………322.4
  • Civil Rights……………………………………….………323.1
  • WWII and the Holocaust………….………….940.5, 943.086 

Tough Topics: Everything you want to know, but don't really want to ask:

000 - General Works

  • 010 - Bibliography
  • 020 - Library and information science
  • 030 - General encyclopedic works
  • 040 - empty
  • 050 - General serials and their indexes
  • 060 - General organizations and museology
  • 070 - News media, journalism, publishing
  • 080 - General collections
  • 090 - Manuscripts and rare books

100 - Philosophy and Psychology

  • 110 - Metaphysics
  • 120 - Epistemology, causation, humankind
  • 130 - Paranormal phenomena
  • 140 - Specific philosophical schools
  • 150 - Psychology
  • 160 - Logic
  • 170 - Ethics (moral philosophy)
  • 180 - Ancient, medieval, Eastern philosophy
  • 190 - Modern Western philosophy

200 - Religion and Mythology

  • 210 - Natural theology
  • 220 - Bible
  • 230 - Christian theology
  • 240 - Christian moral and devotional theology
  • 250 - Christian orders and local church
  • 260 - Christian social theology
  • 270 - Christian church history
  • 280 - Christian denominations and sects
  • 290 - Other and comparative religions

300 - Social Science

  • 310 - General statistics
  • 320 - Political science
  • 230 - Economics
  • 340 - Law
  • 350 - Public administration
  • 360 - Social services; association
  • 370 - Education
  • 380 - Commerce, communications, transport
  • 390 - Customs, etiquette, folklore

400 - Language

  • 410 - Linguistics
  • 420 - English and Old English
  • 430 - Germanic Languages
  • 440 - Romance Languages
  • 450 - Italian, Romanian, Rhaeto-Romanic languages
  • 460 - Spanish and Portuguese languages
  • 470 - Latin
  • 480 - Classical Greek
  • 490 - Other languages

500 - Natural Sciences and Mathematics

  • 510 - Mathematics
  • 520 - Astronomy and allied sciences
  • 530 - Physics
  • 540 - Chemistry and allied sciences
  • 550 - Earth sciences
  • 560 - Paleontology; Paleozoology
  • 570 - Life sciences
  • 580 - Botanical sciences
  • 590 - Zoological sciences

600 - Applied Science and Technology

  • 610 - Medicine; Medical sciences
  • 620 - Engineering and allied operations
  • 630 - Agriculture
  • 640 - Home economics and family living
  • 650 - Management and public relations
  • 660 - Chemical engineering
  • 670 - Manufacturing
  • 680 - Manufacturing for specific uses
  • 690 - Buildings

700 - Arts and Recreation

  • 710 - Civic and landscape art
  • 720 - Architecture
  • 730 - Sculpture, ceramics, and metalwork 
  • 740 - Drawing and decorative arts
  • 750 - Painting
  • 760 - Printmaking, prints, and graphic arts
  • 770 - Photography
  • 780 - Music
  • 790 - Recreational and performing arts

800 - Literature and Rhetoric

  • 810 - American literature in English
  • 820 - English and Old English literatures
  • 830 - Literatures of Germanic languages
  • 840 - Literatures of Romance languages
  • 850 - Literatures of Italian, Romanian, Rhaeto-Romanic languages
  • 860 - Literatures of Spanish and Portuguese languages
  • 870 - Latin literatures
  • 880 - Classical Greek Literatures
  • 890 - Literatures of other languages

900 - Geography and History

  • 910 - Geography and travel
  • 920 - Biography and genealogy
  • 930 - History of the ancient world
  • 940 - General history of Europe
  • 950 - General history of Asia
  • 960 - General history of Africa
  • 970 - General history of North America
  • 980 - General history of South America
  • 990 - General history of other areas