Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Wilson Library: Digital Resources

Below you will find our databases for certain subject areas. Click here for the complete list of Gale products.

Home password for all databases is patriot unless otherwise noted.

General Databases

Great for encyclopedic reference sources and middle-school level newspapers and periodicals, plus images, videos, primary sources and audio selections. Topic divisions to explore ideas.

 

High school edition includes more magazines, journals, newspapers, and deeper reference books for more in-depth analysis. Topic Wheel and Publication Search are helpful.

Basic encyclopedia that was formerly KidsInfoBits

Powersearch

Power-Search is a tool for cross-searching all our databases. Returns a lot results, but very helpful for experienced skim-and-scanners or specific essential questions.

Newspapers

Searchable Boston Globe articles going back to 1985.

Searchable New York Times articles going back to 1985.

 

Encyclopedias

 

Select “Student” option. "Advanced" will have more results at more complex reading levels.

Home username: natick

Home pswd: worldbook

Social Studies

More than 15,000 primary and secondary sources to drive analysis of the geographical, political, social, economic, and cultural forces at play in the modern globalized world.

Username: Wilsonmid / Password: student

 

Explore the nuanced structure and foundations of the U.S. government and connect these concepts to current issues and questions about political processes, constitutional rights, and international relations.

Username: Wilsonmid / Password: student

 

U.S. historical sources on significant people, events and topics.

Covers the Ancient World to today’s headlines with primary sources, reliable reference and multi-media content.

Science

Science In Context provides contextual information on hundreds of today's most significant science topics.

Full text for hundreds of science magazines, journals, encyclopedias, reference books and a vast collection of images. 

Username: wilson2  / Password: Wildcats!1

Current Events / Issues

Treats the most compelling and divisive topics in modern society with authoritative historical context; balanced, expert perspectives; and carefully selected primary and secondary sources.

Username: Wilsonmid / Password: student

Side-by-Side viewpoints on important contemporary issues.

A global perspective on the most important issues.

Select primary source documents related to critical people and events in African American history.

Content on both sides of controversial issues.

Home username: s9627801

Home pswd: wordpass@1

An online health information resource for patients and their families and friends.

Other Specialized Databases

 

Contextual information on the world's most influential people. Search for people based on name, occupation, nationality, ethnicity, birth/death dates and places, or gender as well as keyword and full text.

 

Up-to-date biographical information, overviews, full-text literary criticism and reviews on literature.

 

Professional journals, news stories, magazine coverage, and more for professions, trades, and other 

 

The Fine Arts & Music Collection places over 10 million articles at the fingertips of serious students of drama, music, art history, and filmmaking.

 

Includes nearly 400 health/medical journals, numerous reference volumes, over 700 health videos, and hundreds of pamphlets and health-related articles.

 

Top health-related issues and their historical contexts, current complexities, impacts on physical and mental well-being, and global reach.